fb_img_1486986166384
Daniel Beckers, 21.

 

“I’m finding this whole point in my life incredibly bizarre. I’m 21, and everything is suddenly more complex. It never fully occurred to me how blurred so many lines actually are – nothing is as clear cut as I once thought. Friends, relationships, education, work etc. it’s all a lot more messy now I’m older. I’ve gone through situations I never even considered would happen. A lot of staple things are just not there anymore, so in some ways I feel like it’s now up to me to stabalise. Some days this is exciting, but others it’s completely terrifying.

What are you working on?

Following from how I started writing my book, this came about when Hugh provided a random title, for which I then provided a blurb. Hugh messaged to say he enjoyed what I had written, to the point where I thought to myself: why not make it into a story? Hugh had completed his book, one which I’m sure and hope will get the attention it deserves, and mentioned how cathartic writing was.

The freedom to write about concepts I had enjoyed from other writings was odd. It didn’t matter that my writing was potentially completely awful, that the last time I actually wrote anything similar was during GCSEs, I could just explore the ideas I had always wanted to explore. It was, and is, cool to see how things formed, and crazier when I consider that it all came from me. I’ve always enjoyed talking to people who just create things for the love of creating itself; I hate to sound pretentious, but sometimes I think people get too caught up in the idea that the end result has to be significant, or that they’re not good enough sometimes saying they simply “can’t”. I can totally understand that, but it’s a whole other experience they’re missing out on.”

Leave a Reply

